WHATEVER HAPPENED TO

Karen Kaye
3 min readDec 17, 2020

--

BARRY LIVINGSTON (aka ERINE DOUGLAS?)

By Terri Marquis
Staff Writer

What Ever Happened to Barry Livingston? One of the stars of My Three Sons best know for his character Ernie Douglas the younger brother of Robbie and Chip. Barry recently wrote a boot title :The Imortance of Being Erine.” He is currently working on a film directed by Clint Eastwood.

He decided to write the book after so many fans always asked him the same questions over and over throughout the years. In the book he reflected on a lot of his personal memoires and triumphs. He admitted that after the jobs disappeared he began to fill his idle time with drug use that led to his disillusionment and despair. He did get his demons under control and chart out his new life and reclaimed his acting career.

Barry Livingston

“I’m in my mid-fifties now and working regularly as a character actor in some of today’s biggest films (The Social Network, You Don’t Mess With The Zohan, First Daughter) and TV projects (Mad Men, Big Love, Two and a Half Men, Desperate Housewives). To be forthright, I wrote my book to trumpet my comeback, an accomplishment I’m proud of.”

exHe wrote the book to share his positive experiences, which he felt people would enjoy reading it. Overall, he felt the reasons for writing the book was a fun thing to do. He has played with such contemporary actors as Robert Downey, Jr Brad Pitt and Katie Holmes. “. “It was a magical way for me to revisit old friends, some world famous and some ot, some still alive and others deceased. My life has been an amazing journey, filled with triumph, rejection and redemption. I hope you enjoy reading the book as much as I did writing it!” After establishing himself as a stage actor, Barry continued his work on TV After establishing himself as a stage actor, Barry continued his work on TV appearing in such classics as Room 222, The Streets of San Francisco and Ironsides in the seventies, Simon & Simon, Hart to Hart and Doogie Howser, M.D. in the eighties and The Nanny, Alley McBeal and Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman in the nineties.

--

--

Karen Kaye

Hollywood Happenings is an on-line community newspaper, created, copyrighted and trademarked in 2003. I am an award winning sports writer, Red Carpet interviews